The Registered Healthcare Safety Officer® (RSO) is knowledgeable of the fundamentals of occupational health and safety. The RHSO is generally responsible for the day-to-day activities of managing a company’s health and safety program (this is an entry-level certification)


RHSO examination consist of 110 multiple-choice questions; passing score is 80%.


Topics covered on the examination:


Safety Terminology

Management’s Responsibilities

Hazard Recognition and Control Measures

Fire and Life Safety

Electrical Safety

Office and Fleet Safety

Compressed Gas Cylinders

Hazardous Materials / Waste

Safety Training


Safety Inspections

Hospital Support Services

Accident Investigations

Documenting Safety

Prerequisite: OSHA 30-hour (Construction or General Industry) or NEBOSH International General Certificate or Degree in healthcare field.

Maintenance of the RHSO certification requires 16 continuing education units every two years and nominal fee.